Glossybox Anniversary Edition May 2012

I never fail to be lured back into things when there is a special edition, so hearing that it was glossybox’s first anniversary edition I thought I’d resubscribe and see if it was full of extra special treats.

Contents list:

Collection 2000 Lasting Colour Gel Eyeliner – Black – Full size £4.99

HD Brows Brow Beater – Full size £14.95

Noble Isle Summer Rising Bath and Shower Gel – 75ml £6

Weleda Iris Hydrating Day Cream – 7ml – £2.56

Lolita Lempicka L’eau en Blanc – 0.8ml – £0.52

Lolita Lempicka Eau de Parfum – 0.8ml – £0.52

Glossybox handbag mirror and balloon.

Value – £29.54

Yes, I know it’s not all about what things are worth but I do like to always evaluate how much the products in my box would have cost me first to reassure myself I’m not wasting money.  Coming up at nearly £30 worth I think that’s pretty reasonable.  Now to the important bit, what I actually make of the products…

Gel eyeliner – I would normally be peaved and think I’d got the booby prize receiving a brand like Collection 2000 as it’s just not high end, but I have been eyeing up various gel eyeliners for a while now so this has at least saved me the £10 I would have blown and I actually don’t mind having a cheaper one so I don’t feel I’m wasting it while I get to grips.  Having tried it the consistency seem good and it seems quite unsmudgeable but having not used gel eyeliner before I have nothing to compare it to.  My one issue is why is the brush it comes with so tiny (it’s a mini one that fits in with the pot of eyeliner in it’s box – I spent ages rooting through the shredded paper in my glossybox before I realised that’s what they’d done, for me this is where it falls down compared to more prestigious brands).  This does make me think it would have been better if Glossybox had put a proper size one in as the bonus item rather than the mirror – but then they didn’t give everyone the eyeliner so it wouldn’t have made sense for people without it.

Brow Beater – I think I may be the only person left on the planet that isn’t obsessed with their eyebrows.  I get mine threaded and then I just leave them.  I don’t really get the whole brow gels and pencils and mascara’s thing, and mine don’t point in odd directions either so this is probably wasted on me.  That said the box tells me that this will condition my brows as well as setting them into place and also trains your brows into position over time.  I guess I’ll give it a go and see if it makes any kind of noticeable difference.  I can’t help but feel that this is slightly wasted on brows though – I mean, if it can train brows into the correct position over time can it train my eyelashes to grow curly?  I’m just throwing it out there….

Noble Isle Shower Gel – The smell of this really reminds me of something and makes me think of holidays.  In the back of my mind I think it must be a shower gel my dad used to use on holidays, but it doesn’t make sense to be that because I really like the smell of this for myself.  It has a very fresh scent which I can’t quite describe for myself so I’ll use the description from their site – An immaculate fragrance evoking the beginnings of summer, with extracts of toning elderflower and antioxidant-charged gooseberry with clean notes of orange blossom, moss and cut grass.  I haven’t used it yet so I can’t tell you if it lathers up well, or leaves your skin feeling great but I’m looking forward to using it.

Weleda – I recently got a trial size of their Pomegranate  face cream and was impressed.  Iris isn’t really my kind of a fragrance but I’m sure the cream will be a good one so it’s always useful to have travel sizes.  I am a bit confused about why there is no writing in English anywhere on it though – it feels a bit like one of those cheap products you buy in discount stores rather than a ‘proper’ tube.

L’eau en Blanc – Soft, clean, easily wearable fragrance.  Not sensational enough to blow me away or anything but very inoffensive.

Eau de Parfum – Fruity and much too sweet for my tastes but there is something nice about it.

And then the bonus mirror.  Well, once you have one in your handbag you don’t really need any more, but to give them their dues they have at least gone to the effort of putting a magnifying mirror in and a normal one.

So overall I’m reasonably happy with this box but not jumping up and down with excitement.  I would have liked to try the hair oil other people have got in their boxes and the face masks but you can’t win ’em all.  I find myself torn between beauty boxes at the moment and keep chopping and changing which ones I get because as soon as I think I’m decided I see a good review or offer for another one and have to switch.  I think next month I will have to try Joliebox as they have a special £5 first box offer and it’s their anniversary box so it might be extra special – I am too fickle for this beauty box business!  Which box is everyone else’s favourite beauty box?

Leave a comment