Yantra Mat

This is a bit of a departure from the products I normally review but I was so excited by this I had to share.

 

This is my newest impulse buy and it is a Yantra Mat.  Yantra mats are based on accupressure and the concept of a bed of nails.  Essentially it’s loads of spikes stuck to a mat.  Apparently, you lie on them for around 20 minutes a day and they cure insomnia, relieve stress, fix aching backs and speed up your metabolism.  Well, as an insomniac that has been doing battle with a recent bout I was desperate for a nights sleep so ready to try anything.  That ‘Food Hospital’ programme told me to eat Kiwi Fruit and it did nothing to help.  Also, there’s something a bit exciting about a bed of nails I think (this might just be me, I also get really excited about injections).

My Yantra mat arrived yesterday and I was itching to try it out, so I laid it out on my bedroom floor while I was watching the last 10 minutes of Waterloo Road (because I’m cool like that).  My first observation, and perhaps word of warning, is that this is fine once you’re lying on it and your weight is distributed evenly, but it’s bloody painful when you lower yourself down n sit on it.  There was yelping and jumping up involved.  Once I had ‘manned up’ and was lying on it it was alright, I wouldn’t say comfortable, but bearable.  I should also tell you that you will look a little bumpy when you get off the mat – it doesn’t last so don’t panic.

The booklet that came with it said to only use it for 10 minutes the first night so that’s what I did.  I didn’t fall asleep on the mat (apparently some people do?) but I did feel quite relaxed afterwards.  I also can’t say that I fell straight asleep that night, but I did feel like I’d had more or better sleep when I woke up this morning.  I will try this again tonight, and for longer, and see if it does more.  If something this simple can work and stop me from turning into the sleep deprived, twitchy weirdo with zero attention span then I’m all for it!

Have you tried any strange therapies?  Are you tempted by the Yantra Mat, or is it a bit too weird?

Leave a comment