October empties

IMG_20131110_125518

Time to take out the trash, but what’s been living in my empties box this month?

Box left to right:

IMG_20131110_130045

  • La Roche-Posay Redermic R – This was only a small sample, but it was supposed to reduce wrinkles and correct skin tone. Being as it’s so strong you have to use sunscreen this really didn’t do enough for me to justify the potential damage.
  • Elemis Pro-radiance illuminating flash balm – I loved this when I first tried it. It subtley illuminates the skin meaning that in summer I managed to use it instead of foundation. I did find as I went on using it that my skin was getting too oily though so I wound up a bit undecided in the end.
  • Olay Total effects wake up wonder – A clean, fresh moisturiser also with subtle illumination.
  • Bharti Vyas Face & neck polisher – A great face scrub, but with slightly odd application guidelines. You have to keep your face and fingers wet and keep dipping them into it. It really is remarkable effective for something that doesn’t feel very abrasive, but the fact that I couldn’t use it in the shower puts me off buying it again.
  • Clinique High impact mascara – This is a great natural looking mascara. I already have a spare – thank god for bonus time!
  • Ginvera Green tea exfoliating marvel gel – Another odd exfoliator. You apply it to dry skin and keep rubbing until it beads off. Again, works wonders but you couldn’t use it in the shower.
  • dr brandt flaws no more r3p eye – Best. Eye cream. Ever.
  • Elemis Pro-radiance cream cleanser – Probably the best cleanser I’ve ever used, and left on a little longer it feels like a luxurious face mask. Very expensive, but I’ll probably buy it again at some point.

Larger products:

  • Garnier Fructis repair and shine shampoo – Super moisturising and really very good for a cheap shampoo.
  • Yves Rocher Vanilla eau de toilette – Much though I love vanilla perfumes this was a little one dimensional for my liking.
  • Goldwell Dualsenses ultra volume boost shampoo – Adds volume, but isn’t the best shampoo I’ve ever used.
  • Sure Maximum protection – Kick ass sweat protection. Simple as.
  • Queen of shaves Ta-da! shave gel – Non-foaming shave gel that smells like pina colada, makes your razor glide perfectly and leaves legs soft and moisturised. I don’t use any other shave gels since I discovered this.
  • Yves Rocher Bio nourishing honey shower gel – I didn’t realise when I bought this that it was honey and muesli – breakfast for the body, I guess. It still smelled pretty good, and I always buy Yves rocher shower gel because I’m never allergic to them like supermarket brands.
  • Tigi S-Factor Papaya leave-in moisture spray – Smells amazing and really does nourish, but since I started using oils this just doesn’t cut it. I wouldn’t buy it again.
  • Saaf Organic foot softening balm – I love the really lemony scent of this foot balm, but for me it was waaaaaay too greasy and didn’t soften my feet enough to be worth it.
  • The body shop Rainforest moisture hair butter – Smells gorgeous and is really thick so you feel that it’s definitely more than a regular conditioner. This did add a lot of moisture to my hair, but didn’t make it sit perfectly or anything. I’d still buy it again as a relatively inexpensive once a week treatment.
  • Aussie 3 minute miracle luscious long – Not the best smelling of all the Aussie ranges, but they’re all good and pretty cheap so I tend to always have one on the go. Personally though, I prefer Mega or Miracle Moist.
  • Bourjois vitamin-enriched toner – Like most toners, I’m not convinced this did a lot for my skin. I guess the main bonus from a non-AHA toner is just that it makes sure all your cleanser is removed. This did do that, but just didn’t really wow me in any way that would make me rush out to buy it again.
  • Yves Rocher Macadamia nut shower cream – Just the most gorgeous authentic nutty scent you will ever find, plus a lovely moisturising shower cream. I have a lot of love for this stuff.
Leave a Reply

