The Dream Box

IMG_20140526_134545

It is a looong time since I’ve bought a beauty box, but this was one I just couldn’t resist. It sold out within a day or two of launching, so I apologise for being THAT person that tells you about stuff you can’t actually buy, but think of me as your bank balance’s fairy god mother. (Or go buy all the products individually, because to hell with paying rent and bills!)

This box was available through Latest in Beauty, who are excellent because they actually show you what’s in a box before you buy. It works better as a concept for me because I was able to see that there were quite a few things in the box I would definitely use, and I could justify to myself that I needed enough of them to make it worth the price.

The Dream Box, with products picked by British Beauty Blogger, cost £19.95 and included the following:

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara – I need another mascara like I need a hole in the head, but being easily manipulate by marketing the name if this one had me intrigued. I think this is supposed to be the star product of the box, and is worth almost the entire cost. I love the Too Faced Smokey Eye palette, so I have high expectations for the quality of this.

Bourjois cream blush in 03 rose tender – This was one of the products I really wanted that helped me to justify the box purchase to myself. I don’t regret it. This is beautiful now that it’s getting to the more bare skinned months of the year. It’s really easy to apply, looks super natural but pretty and has been the only blusher I’ve used since I got it.

Lola kabuki brush – I didn’t own a kabuki brush before this one and was curious to see what it would be like. I’ve been using this one to apply the Bourjois cream blush and it gives a very natural, diffused finish. The only slight disappointment is that I’ve noticed a few stray bristles discarded in the blush, and this before I even cleaned it for the first time.

L’Occitane immortelle divine lotion – I’m a big fan of L’Occitane so I’m really looking forward to trying this. It’s supposed to be used after cleansing and before moisturisation to accelerate cellular renewal. The only turd in the water pipe is that I’m not sure if this means it’s equivalent to a toner, or a serum. Answers on a postcard please!

La Roche Posay thermal spring water spray – I’m never entirely sure what water based sprays are really going to do for my skin other than make it wet, but this one apparently contains selenium and anti-oxidants. Whether that does anything beneficial or not I don’t know, but this will still be lovely on a hot day.

Bee Good honey & wild water mint cleansing water – As yet untested by moi, but this is supposed to be soothing and softening. I’ve got a bit of a stock pile of micellar waters at the moment, but this will eventually get used because, hell, girls gotta cleanse!

Elemis treat your feet foot cream – Elemis products rarely disappoint and I was nearly out of foot cream so this was very enticing. It smells lavendery and feels nourishing. I’m not sure it has converted me to buying it at the usual price (ouch!), but a lovely product none the less.

Charlotte Tilbury lipstick kisses – An interesting, if slightly odd, concept. This is an individual sheet that comes impregnated with lipstick which you are supposed to press between your lips to apply. I haven’t used this yet because I was given a deep red shade and I’m terrified it’s going to end up all around my mouth. I will report back when I’m brave enough to give it a go.

Essie polish – Essie always makes great nail polishes. I received a gorgeous fuschia/bright pink shade that will be perfect for summer.

Kneipp herbal baths – This herbal bath essence called ‘stress free’ promised to smell of mandarin and orange. The scent was too subtle for my liking, but I was genuinely wowed by it turning my bath water vibrant orange after the addition of one little cap full.

Janjira argan oil handwash – This is too masculine smelling for my tastes, but being travel sized it might be a useful addition to the handbag for travelling. It’s shocking (and quite disgusting) how many public lavatories fail to refill soap dispensers.

Benefit It’s potent eye cream – A little pot, but might be good for taking on holiday. I’m yet to try Benefit’s skincare so this will be interesting. Is it just me that’s slightly suspicious of skincare made by make-up companies?

Makeup Revolution awesome eyeshadow and eyebrow palette – I was a bit upset to receive this bright palette after seeing a beautiful neutrals palette in the picture for the beauty box. I haven’t opened this to test because I’m not sure I’ll use enough of the colours to make it worth it. I may have to pass this on to someone braver than I.

Roger & Gallet Gingembre rouge – I can’t even begin to explain what this smells of, but it’s gooooood. I could not stop smelling this the day I tried it on. I resent how much we get charged for French brands like this in England, but I might put in a request when my parents go to France later this year.

Ren Satin perfection BB cream – The only product of Ren’s that I’ve used before is their Glycolactic Radiance Renewal mask, so I had high expectations for this. I’ve only tested it once, and I think I was a little heavy handed with the application, so I won’t pass judgement just yet.

Aaand, breathe. That was a packed box! Loads of interesting things to try, so I will report back when I’ve used them all.

Happy product hoarding everyone!

One thought on “The Dream Box

Leave a Reply

